Where has my motivation gone? Part 2

So now that I’ve established I’m a ball of excuse, where do I start.  A great reason for me feeling overwhelmed could be that I wanted to do it all at once. Lets narrow down all the items I want to accomplish.

  • Weight loss
  • Transition toddler to own room
  • Unpack all belonging and de-clutter and organize home
    • Linen closets
    • Bedroom closets
    • Kitchen cabinets
    • Garage
    • Be neater and cleaner
    • Organize finances – includes couponing and paying down debt

Ok so with my goals listed how do I start. Do I go from doable now to doable later.  The goal that will obviously take me longer is paying down debt and losing weight.

I’ve started out slowly. My biggest mistakes have been setting the bar way to high. I realize there is no way I’m waking up at 4am to do the 45 min of cardio I want to do.  So I need to start out super slow. Being a single parent with a very active toddler can be my exercise for now. Taking him on walks, running in the park or just getting up and dancing are all great forms of exercise.  At first I’m loose my breath and need more breaks but as I keep doing it I’m sure my own endurance will get better.

I’m also very proud to say three weeks ago I decided to give up SODA. They say drinking a soda puts on about 10 lbs a year. That’s a lot of weight I’ve put on over the last two decades of me drinking a soda every day.  I won’t tell you it’s been easy and I don’t know how long my battle will last. Or when the day will come when I don’t think about grabbing one. But for now I’ve taken a firm grasp on my will power.  I keep reminding myself that I don’t want to waste anymore time being overweight. I don’t want to waste anymore time being sad because of my weight.  This is just my own personal opinion but I helped no one especially myself wallowing in my own self pity. My life is showing me that when one door closes another one opens. Each minute of my life will be spend with nothing but gratitude and happiness. Plain and simple. So I’m taking back my control and doing this. Sure I might feel tired or lazy but after that initial feeling passes I’m going to remember why I’m pulling myself up to get things done.

What are some of your motivational tools??

2 thoughts on “Where has my motivation gone? Part 2

  1. I think you hit the nail on the head. You have a lot of goals, which isn’t a bad thing, but you need to start out slow. I have no doubt that you can do all those things that you set out to accomplish you just need to take your time. Try mini goals.

    My motivational tools: Reading quotes that help keep me motivated. Talking to friends about my issues. Trying to picture what my future would look like.

  2. Baby steps, mini goals, rewards along the way and accountability partners that will crack the whip when necessary. I also like to remember that these things didn’t happen overnight so they can’t be fixed overnight either.

Leave a Reply

