Mom of Tornado – Items I love.

Dry Shampoo.
What is Dry Shampoo: Dry shampoo is a powdered substance used to clean the hair in between shampooing or when you want to extend the length of a blowout.

I will be the first to admit that I am an avid user of dry shampoo. There are some nights that I am beyond tired and the idea of getting in the shower to wash my extremely long hair just makes me even more tired. I would rather take a quick shower and then off to bed or finish chores that were left behind. Having a three year old can sure take it out of you. Once all the dishes are done, lunches packed, clothes put out and toys picked up the last thing I want to do is wash and dry my hair. My hair is long , very long by some standards, and the maintenance can get time consuming. On a normal night / morning I would wash my hair and then conditions it. Then I would blow dry my hair before bed and then style in the morning. Before I discovered the magic of dry shampoos, I would dread going past two days with not washing. My roots would get super oily and start to get weighted down making my thin hair look even thinner. Defiantly not a good look.

Being a busy mom I find that using Dry shampoo has allowed me to wash my long hair at least 3 times a week. This in turn allows my color to last a bit longer and my hair not to dry out so much. I also found that using it after a mid day workout works great. The oils are kept at bay and I add volume to my hair as well.

A while back I was introduced to dry shampoo by my hairdresser; Jen Debarr from Fringe Salon in SF. She has been doing my hair for a good 8 years now and of course when she said “HERE TRY THIS” I was like, hand it over. This magic dust that I sprinkled onto my hair not only zapped the oil but added volume to my limp tresses. I was instantly hooked. Even thought my investment of $22 dollars lasted me a while I did not see myself giving another $22 bucks for a 3 inch bottle of dust. Then as if the universe was hearing my silent plea I started to see all these new products pop up.

Here are reviews of a few of the products I’ve tried. Still not found the ONE but some have come close. All but the dust, says to shake the can and spray 8 inch away from the hair. Section the hair and spray spray, spray, then blend blend, blend.

Suave Dry Shampoo: – this product was ok. I am not fond of the scent that some Suave products have so that was a major put off . I had to really blend it into my scalp so that the white residue would go away . If I did not vigorously blend I would see random white spots as well. I would think that if you have thin hair I would defiantly not use this one. Suave has the Professional line as well that also has a dry shampoo, I think I’ll give it a try if I can find it on sale.

Dove Invigorating Dry Shampoo – Out of the 4 this hands down has to be my favorite. I am very picky when it comes to smells so I was surprised when this product had a great scent that I did not mind in my hair. And a little bit of the product went a long way. As I blended it into my hair I did not have a gritty feeling and once it was completely blended into my hair no white powder residue was left behind. My brown did not look dull . True to its name, it felt like I shampooed my hair. Also you can’t go wrong with the price.

Got2B Dry Shampoo Powder – Out of the three drug store brands this one was the one I liked least. I would think in a pinch I would use it but not if I had a choice.. The powder felt really pasty and course. I felt like I took forever to blend and at the end of the day my hair was oily again.

Schwarzkopf Osis Dust It Retail $22.00 – Worked great, and a little went a long way. My hair did feel a bit brittle mid day and I would have to go back in to fluff my hair to get the volume back but over all I appreciated getting introduced to this product. The product gets dispensed directly from the container to the hair thru a shaker. Perfect to place directly at the roots, and unlike a aerosol it went on the hair and not on the counter, or the mirror.

What Dry Shampoo’s have you tried? What did you think??
Did you like this review? Leave me a comment and don’t forget to follow me on twitter!

20130312-162058.jpg

*all products reviewed were purchased by myself and all opinions are solely my own.

5 thoughts on “Mom of Tornado – Items I love.

  1. I am a huge fan of dry shampoo! Maybe a little too much– but i dont like washing my hair too much so that my red will stay.

    I like Pssssssst dry, bought at Urban Outfitters for prob like $7. Its a spray and the smell is fine.

    I also like Oscar Blandi dry shampoo $11, its powder and smells like i just washed my hair.

    I however don’t like the Dove dry shampoo though.

    I could also be cheap and just use baby powder, but woof that smell.

    • Ohhh I am going to have to try the Psssst one. I’ve seen it around but never heard of the brand so I bypassed it. I am currently using Oscar blandi voluminizing mouse and love it ill have to also try there dry shampoo.
      Thank you.

Leave a Reply

